Frugal Day 12: Inexpensive Harvest

One of the simple pleasures of summer and fall is inexpensive produce. The only problem is what to do with it all once it’s bought and sitting in your kitchen.

tomatoesOn the weekend I found a huge box of tomatoes for a mere $5. I couldn’t walk away without taking a box home with me. The only thing is that I’ve already got healthy tomatoes growing in my garden.

tomatoes in the gardenOut of these new and ripe garden tomatoes, I now have diced tomatoes in the freezer, and both plain and arrabiata pasta sauce. There are still more tomatoes in the box to keep me busy for another evening. My $5 purchase will keep me in tomatoes throughout the winter – how frugal is that – I love it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

