Frugal Day 18: Puppy Treats

If dogs could talk, what do you think they’d say about the fact that seemingly all dog treats are shaped like bones or hearts? If the typical dog is anything like the puppy who’s just come into my life, she’d say she was more concerned with getting that treat down-the-hatch than the shape or colour it comes in. With that in mind, I’ve decided to make DIY dog treats!

I’ve been quiet for the past couple of weeks because I invited a new little friend to come live with me. I found a rescue dog who I just couldn’t leave behind.puppy paws

I’m sure she’ll find her moment to show her face and make her internet debut, but for now we’re on week two of her wearing a cone around her neck to deter licking and picking at what ails her.

If you’ve trained a puppy you’ll know how successful training can be with food incentives. Even with recent Black Friday sales, I’m amazed by the money that can be spent on this and that for a pet. I’m not saying that if I’m eating lentils she should also eat lentils, but confident I could make just as effective training treats as those that come from a package, I got busy in the kitchen…

Thanks to the remnants in my fridge and some basic baking knowledge, we now have two (from scratch) varieties to choose from:

banana dog biscuits

Banana Buckwheat Dog Treats

  • 2 bananas (smashed with a fork)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • ½ cup buckwheat flour
  • ½ tsp xantham gum
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped carrot

Combine wet ingredients until smooth. Add carrot (or other dog-safe vegetable component) and mix in dry ingredients. 

Bake in 350 degree oven for 25 min and then turn off the oven. Leave baking trays in the oven with the door closed for a further 2 hours or overnight. This will dry out the treats to assist in preserving them. 

My girl seems to go for the banana over all others, but being part lab: if it’s food, she’s into it – as if this is the first and last time she’s seeing food!!

Our second recipe, perked her interest in a different way. I rarely cook with meat, so she went a little bonkers for the turkey stock that brought new smells to the kitchen and a yummy flavour to these small nuggets of puppy-goodness!

turkey dog treats piped onto baking sheet

Turkey & Apple Dog Treats

  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened apple sauce
  • 3/4 cup turkey stock
  • 2 flax eggs (2 tsp ground flax seeds combined with 2 tbsp water, let sit to firm up for about 5min)
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped apple and carrots (or other vegetables)
  • rice flour
  • ½ tsp xantham gum

Combine wet ingredients and stir thoroughly. Add chopped vegetables ahead of dry ingredients. Add rice flour and xantham gum at the same time. Continue to add rice flour until you reach the desired consistence (about 1 1/4cups).

Note: to make small training biscuits I opted to pipe the dough out of a plastic bag and onto a parchment lined baking sheet. You could make them bigger by spoon dropping them onto the sheet. 

Bake in 350 degree oven for 25 min. Then turn the oven off and leave trays in the heat for a further 2 hours or overnight.

Yup, I’m sure you noticed too… they look like little turds! It’s ok, this is where puppy and I agree: I don’t need to be Martha Stewart and worry about creative shapes since she’s more concerned about the taste. So long as they contain healthy ingredients and don’t cost me a fortune then we’re both happy!

These small but effective cookies are crumb-free which is handy for packing around in my pockets – training moments are abundant at this point, and I’ll never be without a supply!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

