Frugal Day 23: Natural Suds

New Years has come and gone – so I wish you all a belated Happy New Year, and with it, in my world came a number of resolutions. (All, I’m proud to say are still unbroken, but we’ll see how it goes in the coming weeks!) One of which is for my house to go au natural!!

Gone are the days of weird blue chemical-ridden liquids gracing the insides of my laundry machine. Make your own laundry detergent is one of the easiest ways to be frugal and a quick way to go natural! The only real effort comes in grating a bar of soap – that’s easy peasy especially if you sit down in front of the TV!

grating a bar of yellow soap onto a plate

I’m a fan of the dry laundry soap. In my opinion, why add liquid when that’s what the washer does? For 4-9 cents per load, I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to get back to using homemade laundry detergent.

All Natural Laundry Detergent

All you need is simple ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup washing soda
  • 1/2 cup baking soda
  • 1 cup grated bar soap (I use Sunlight brand)
  • ½ cup powdered laundry detergent (*optional)

Measure them out and you’ll be good to go! (Note: I just toss -no need to measure- each into a mason jar, shake it around – it helps if the bar soap has a colour so that you can tell how equally distributed it is.)

making laundry detergent

Then add a tbsp and a half each time you do laundry. You’ll be surprised how long it lasts, and how easy it is to refill the jar, without a trip to the store!

 

 

2 responses to “Frugal Day 23: Natural Suds

Leave a Reply

