My February Food Challenge

The change of months for me, at least at the beginning of the year, is a little bit like the cross over from one year to the next. It’s a whole new starting point to re-align myself, set new goals and see if I can keep them for a number of weeks instead of a whole lot of them!

So to carry on my healthy, mostly plant-based and very frugal lifestyle, I name February – eating out of the freezer month! After a summer of filling my small deep-freezer with home grown and locally harvested produce and with an always stocked pantry, I’m ready.

deep freezer packed with ziplock bags of produceI’ve set a budget that seems extreme for me -not sure how it compares to the rest of the world, but it doesn’t really matter. I’m going with a food budget of $25 per week. Food is really the only thing I indulge on, so the fact that I’m writing it down and setting limits is new for me. If I’m good, it could be a $100 month. That’s kind of exciting to think about, but we’ll see how it goes!

Since deciding on this 4-week course of food savings, I’m finding that the desire to save in one area is overflowing into others. Already this weekend I’ve talked myself out of putting in an online order for tea, buying a new dress and I had a full online cart at a home store, before determining that I really didn’t need to indulge in anything there either.

white on green list of food itemsI don’t normally, set such goals, or for that matter, make them public. To start off and hopefully make things easier I’ve decided to make a couple of lists. I know once I get in from walking the dog after working all day, I’m ready to devour anything good or bad in the kitchen, so here’s hoping these (especially the “quick meal/snack ideas” list) help me to keep to the plan.

Today is February 1st, and go…

 

Leave a Reply

