Frugal Day 26: Drink your Breakfast

Yes, I’m back at it with yet another Frugal Day!

As you know I think mason jars were the best invention ever! I am constantly using them to transport liquid items like salad dressing, iced tea and this week, ice cubes. The heating system in my office, which should be converting over to AC at this time of the year, is all confused, and my office thermostat has been reading at +31 degrees celcius.

With tiring, hot days in the office I’ve reverted back to smoothie making for the take-along breakfast, in, you guessed it, a mason jar.

I’ve never been one for smoothie recipes, because I think it’s all about using up what’s in your fridge and freezer, but here’s one I happened upon and have (unusually) repeated several times now. I think it’s the zingy rhubarb that ties the sweet berries and hint of tropical pineapple together. What’s best, is that no sugar is needed!

looking down the straw at a purple smoothie in a mason jar

Purple Morning Smoothie

Combine the following in your blender:

  • 1/4 cup blueberries (frozen)
  • ½ cup raspberries (frozen)
  • 2 slices canned pineapple
  • ½ cup unsweetened stewed rhubarb
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh mango
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp water (adjust to desired consistency)
  • 1 tbsp protein powder
  • ½ cup mixed greens

Whip it up and voila! I love how a little extra greens go completely unnoticed, but they add some healthy nutrients we all could use more of. Note: just don’t use greens with a particularly bitter taste (i.e. kale or arugula) or your whole smoothie will taste green!

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

