Steamy Kitchen = Yummy Eating!

I will admit, I get a little giddy when I start to see local produce available in the grocery store. With it usually comes a good price tag with which I tend to over stock on whatever’s offered.cucumbers and beansThis is the first weekend I’ve seen local produce at a really good price in the flyers. So the projects to come are going to be based, for some time on cucumbers, beets, peaches, plums, beans and potatoes, oh my!chopped peachesIt’s been a long weekend so there have been other projects to intersperse, but I’m a foodie at heart, so there are a bunch of food posts coming at you soon!

Before I begin with the posting, I’d like to draw your attention to my canning bible. This doesn’t all come naturally to me, there’s a book involved! Mine was gifted to me a couple of years back when I finally had a kitchen and garden to think about canning with. It is Bernardin – Complete Book of Home Preserving: 400 Delicious and Creative Recipes for Today – sold wherever good cookbooks are sold (although the link goes to Amazon, so you can see inside!) It’s recommended because everything’s in it!jars in water bathHappy reading, happy canning season and stay tuned to see what will fill my pantry from this summers’ harvest!

Leave a Reply

