Matcha Scrub

I’m not sure about where you live, but in my neck of the woods, with a never ending supply of dog walks in freezing cold temperatures, by March my skin is rough and scaly. Ok, that sounds gross… It’s not that bad, but I’m certainly ready for warmer seasons that are kinder to my skin. In the meanwhile, I’m finding ways to be nice to my own skin.

I’m no stranger to making moisturizing soap and home made body butter. For this project I’ve combined the two.

Collage of pictures how to make moisture soap bars

Matcha Moisturizing Scrub Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp each cocoa butter and shea butter
  • 1 tsp matcha powder
  • 1 tsp of your preferred scent or essential oil
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup coarsest ground oats
  • 1 tsp Castile soap

Combine the oil and butters and melt them gently in the microwave until thoroughly dissolved. Add matcha powder and stir until no powder remains. Mix in scent, sugar, oats and finally a squirt of Castile soap. Pour into soap mood or muffin tin and place in freezer until solid. 

Matcha moisture bars

I’ve been storing these bars in the freezer until I’m ready to use them. I find they have the right amount of softening and structure to last stored on a soap dish for a few days until one has been used up. With regular use, meaning pulling out a new bar every 2-3 weeks, they keep skin soft and content. No more scratchy bits, and you’re all ready for spring!

Leave a Reply

